Featured Video Play Icon

Honorary Degrees at the University of Oxford

Encaenia is the ceremony at which the University of Oxford awards honorary degrees to distinguished men and women and commemorates its benefactors.

The honorary degrees in 2015 were awarded to:

Professor Sir Richard Evans
Regius Professor of History Emeritus
President of Wolfson College, University of Oxford

Dame Hilary Mantel

Professor Ruth Simmons
Professor of Comparative Literature and Africana Studies, Brown University
President of Brown University (2001 – 2012)

Professor Dame Ann Dowling
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
University of Cambridge
President of the Royal Academy of Engineering

Professor Sir Magdi Yacoub, OM
Professor of Cardiothoracic Surgery at the National Heart and Lung Institute
Imperial College London

Jessye Norman
Operatic Soprano and Recitalist